Italy, Rome and the amazing ancient world


IMG_2149

Italy, and specifically Rome hold some of the best, if not the best sights in the entire world. From the Vatican to the Forum, this place is unbeatable. Obviously, Rome’s history is vast and of vital importance dating all the way back to 850 B.C. Rome houses sights and history that have changed our world forever. Rome is home to some major developments of the human race, including Christianity, civil engineering and the justice system. Rome holds the best sights I’ve seen in all of Europe.  If I had to recommend one place for someone that only got one chance to visit Europe, it would be here.

The people of Italy were so welcoming, willing to help and had great customer service despite the language barrier. Italy just has it all, it has the best of everything you could want in the world – beaches, history, ruins, canals, islands, art, architecture, religion, food, museums, churches, cathedrals, villages and countryside’s as well as big lively cities.

Italy was where the renaissance was born. This country is home to the most famous artwork in the world, from “The Last Judgment” in the Vatican Museum, the “Last Supper” in Milan, to “David” in Florence. Italy is a country you could visit time and time again, and it would be a completely different trip each time. Rome particularly, has such an influence on what our world has become to this day and this is something I quickly realized while preparing for my visit. Before I began researching Rome, I never really realized the extent of  influence it has on my daily life and really how much the Romans have developed and influenced what we use today. I work in the Judicial system for example, and there are many things I started picking up on in my daily work that I realized the Romans had originally come up with. Rome developed the highway system that we still follow today, they created concrete and many architectural styles.  The calendar, alphabet and mass entertainment were all innovations of Ancient Rome. You will be amazed how much Romans are really accredited for when you really get down and research.

Rome had to be the trip I was the most excited to go on of all of my trips. I remember replaying in my mind what it would be like seeing the roman forum for the first time.  Once I got to see all of these sights, it’s funny because it’s almost like it didn’t even happen. When you are there in the flesh actually looking at them it’s just so surreal. It’s like ok, I’m here, I’m looking at it, I’m touching a 2,000 year old ruin that Marc Anthony sat on, that I’ve researched and anticipated seeing for the past year and I don’t quite know what to make of it! It is just so amazing it can’t be put into words.

The months prior to my trip I became infatuated with Roman history and became quite embedded in my research. This unexpectedly developed into somewhat of an emotional time for me, as my research had brought me to question and ponder many important things about life to an extend that I had never done before. Studying Roman history forces you to think and question important and sometimes scary things like the beginning of time, Christianity, religion, life, death, power, politics, what to believe in, what not to believe in, right and wrong … the list goes on.

Rome’s rich history is truly amazing and is absolutely fascinating to me. Roman times were insane; people were sold as slaves and worshiped and sacrificed for pagan gods. At it height, the empire ruled nearly all of the known world . In many ways I find it incredibly sad to think that all that is left of such an incredible empire is a bit of rubble. I wonder what all the great emperors would have thought if they knew that one day all of their incredible monuments and building would basically disappear. It is crazy how every great empire eventually falls sooner or later … Egyptian, Greeks then Romans.

Everything was new and grand at one point in time. How much of our own cities will be anything like they look now in 2,000 years? Physically, our world will be different, but it’ mind-boggling to think about how much different our world may be in terms of religion and politics ideas 2,000 years from now. If Emperor Constantine hadn’t of legalized Christianity in 313 A.D. would it have ever happened? And if not, what would our world be like today? It’s crazy to think that prior to legalization of Christianity you could get killed for being a Christian and after legalization, you could get killed for NOT being one.  It’s even more crazy to think of the power a single person had to change everything.

You will see many sights in Rome that seem unbelievable; the chains and cell St. Peter was confined in the days before he was executed, the very spot Julius Cesar was executed, a Colosseum that has seen hundreds of years of death solely for free entertainment to the masses, stairs that Jesus walked up to meet Pontius Pilate when was he was sentenced to death (bloodstains and all), miles and miles of underground catacombs that have held popes and pagans alike.

Rome is THE place to go for a truly amazing trip, it is a huge city with a smorgasbord of jaw-dropping sights. Make an effort to decide which ones are most important to you so you can get the most out of your trip.  It would be more than a shame to not do your research before you go and I highly advice you to NOT rely on a tour guide to tell you what they think you should know when you get there. I walked more in Rome than I did in any other city of any of my travels. Rome is highly walk able as there are so many sights that are so close together, but the city is huge and so full of sights, that you end up walking farther and farther and farther … I would recommend taking a taxi back to your hotel at the end of the night. 

 

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_photo_challenge/scale/

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/

3 thoughts on “Italy, Rome and the amazing ancient world

  1. Pingback: Isaiah’s Scale: Plowshare to Crop | My Own Champion

  2. johnjchrissy@aol.com

    Well written! I liked your thoughts and insights. It truly is impossible to really grasp the history of what you saw. Its like fairy tales that are suddenly real and can be touched. Grandpa played tennis on King Victor Emmanuel’s court at the end of World War II. Not in Rome but maybe Milan or Venice. ( You talked about the kings palace in your other blog). Some day you should take all of your blogs and put them in a book so you have a hard copy. Electronics can be fleeting. The stones of Rome will probably last longer than the electronic messages of today. I still have grandpa’s handwritten letters from WWII, but if he had sent texts they would have been gone forever. Texts aren’t gona last like papayrus. Love Petra

    Like

Leave a Reply

