Dublin Safety and Cleanliness


Safety:

Ok, I could have been a bit over paranoid considering the fact that it was my first time oversees, but Dublin did seem to be a bit sketchy after dark and early morning.

These feelings are probably due to the fact that within 30 minutes after night fall on our first night there we witnessed an attempted robbery and a street fight that ended with a man being taken away by an ambulance. Needless to say, we didn’t wander the streets after dark for the rest of the trip!

Most of the major cities I’ve been to in Europe are perfectly safe to walk about all hours of the night; Dublin wasn’t one of them.

The first night we arrived in Ireland we ended up walking around the city till almost midnight without realizing it. We were there in early June so it stayed daylight for quite long. We spotted a souvenir shop so we decided to idiotically take money out of a cash machine on an empty street after dark. This is just not smart to do no matter where you are. Surprisingly, this is not where the attempted robbery takes place.

As we were waiting at the front counter to buy our items at the souvenir shop, a man walked up next to us and demanded the cashier give him all the money out of his register. I was so caught up in what I was doing I didn’t even realize what the man was trying to do. My husband on the other hand did notice and was adamant we walk out of the store. I was like, “Why?! I just spent like 30 minutes picking out the perfect souvenirs!” The funny part is that the cashier didn’t even flinch; he was mostly annoyed and irritated with the robber and basically shewed the thief out of the store.

I often think of how this situation would have gone down back home. Europe is not near as gun friendly as the USA and if we had been in this situation back home, would something worse have happened? It’s defiantly something to think about.

Upon leaving the souvenir shop we walked past a few men fighting on the street in front of a bar followed by an ambulance taking one of the men away on a stretcher! My husband and I just looked at each other and were like, “Uh, I don’t think we’re in Kansas anymore Toto.”

Later in the trip we encountered random drunks walking up to people (or should I say stumbling) while they were waiting at the tram station at about 5 a.m. in the morning.

Cleanliness:

Dublin city did stink a little. Actually, to this day when my husband and I are walking outside and a big whiff of something bad hits us in the face we instantly look at each other and say, “Ireland.” When we were walking around Dublin every couple of blocks we would just get a horrible smell hitting us in the face from time to time the entire trip. It’s not like it was a filthy dirty city or anything, but it definitely wasn’t the cleanest either.

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/05/12/bloggers-as-curators/

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/last-but-not-least/

4 thoughts on “Dublin Safety and Cleanliness

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Last but not Least – Speech of the Year | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Daily prompt: Gratitude & Speeches | The Wandering Poet

  3. Pingback: Thank you! | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  4. Yes, unfortunately Dublin is a very dodgy place. I hope it didn’t mar your experience in Ireland entirely. Things get a lot better once you venture beyond the “pale.” I grew up on Achill Island, one of the most beautiful and unspoiled places on Earth. I lived in Dublin for two years, it wasn’t an entirely pleasant experience, I must admit. I wrote a blog about it a few months if you’d like a read of just how bad that city can be. http://criticaldispatches.com/2014/03/21/impressions-of-poverty/

    Like

Leave a Reply

