Cliffs of Moher


These lush cliffs were one of the main highlights of our trip to Ireland. The Cliffs of Moher are located on the west coast of Ireland and are over 700 feet high at their highest point and stretch for nearly five miles. 

cliffs of moher ireland HD Wallpaper 3

68560021 (1)

These cliffs are home to a high number of nesting seabirds and I absolutely loved watching the dozens of birds swarm below me amongst the massive cliffs above. It was truly a surreal and peaceful sight. Many people get fairly close to the edge of the cliffs, allowing for great photo opportunities, but can also be very dangerous if you’re not careful. You can walk along the top of the cliffs to the small O’Brien’s Tower that was built in 1835 by Cornelius O’Brien. This tower was built as an observation point for the hundreds of tourists who even then, visited the Cliffs.

The Cliffs of Moher truly took my breath away. It sounds a little dramatic but I was so moved that I started to tear up a little. This was my first time oversees and I had never seen such a place. I was amazed at what our world had to offer. These cliffs reminded me again of the length of beauty there is in the world that I had no idea existed and left me wondering of all the hidden beauties that I would never even get to scratch the surface of.

I do have to say that after I went to “Beachy Head” in England, (which is the highest part of the famous white chalk cliffs highlighting the coastline,) the cliffs of Moher were somewhat minimized. Don’t get me wrong, the Cliffs of Moher are gorgeous but they are a different type of amazing. Beachy Head is truly Jaw-dropping.

photo 2 (1)On the way to the cliffs we passed through Limerick, where we drove past the setting of the book, “Angela’s Ashes.” If you have read this book, it’s an obvious must photo 1 (2)see. Driving back to Limerick from the Cliffs of Moher, we made a few stops though the region of Burren which consists of a coast of beautiful volcanic rock. It was absolutely gorgeous to see the deep blue waves crashing upon these remarkable black volcanic rocks. After the stop in Burren, I remember falling asleep and waking up to the shoreline of Galway Bay. I had no idea where I was but remember seeing old fisherman scattered up and down the rocky coast with seabirds flying above them; it was a  truly beautiful sight. This is one of my fondest memories of the entire trip and unfortunately the only picture I have of it is in my memory.

 

In response to :

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/04/26/perennial-favorite-full-posts-or-excerpts/

 

2 thoughts on “Cliffs of Moher

Leave a Reply

