Sleeping in Europe


Along with just a backpack and no strict agenda, we also tried to stay away from big hotels on our most recent trip to Europe. Not only were we trying to do it cheaper, but we wanted a more localized feel as well. We were considering hostels but after doing some research it actually ended up being about the same price if not cheaper for a Bed and Breakfast.We ended up mostly staying at B&B’s and small apartments. These were much bigger than the standard European hotel rooms which are known to be almost nonfunctional to American standards.

Our favorite B&B was one we actually stumbled upon without reservations. This was located in Brugge, Belgium and was owned by an older woman and her son. We walked in the door to see if any rooms were available and they welcomed us with open arms. They were some of the nicest people I’ve ever met with amazing customer service. They actually showed us our options of rooms and let us decide if we wanted to stay or not. I wish we would have done this for all of the hotels, because that way, you know what you’re getting. We popped into 2 or 3 other hotels prior to deciding to go with this one.

The two nights we were there, I felt like I was staying with my grandmother. Each day she would see us off and ask us what we had planned. They really made it a point to get to know you and make conversation. This is not something that happens at a standard hotel. We also had our own key to the house if we came back late and they served a very nice breakfast in the morning.  The home itself was also very welcoming with an old grand wood staircase that led up to the 9 rooms. The rooms were large and had gorgeous beamed ceilings. It was also in a quiet area with only a few minutes’ walk from the main center. If you walked the opposite way of the center, there is a quiet non-touristy canal just around the corner.

photo (11)

 

photo (10)

I found out later that this home was actually situated in a building that used to be a part of the ‘Prinsenhof ’ (Court of Princes), the residence of the dukes of Burgundy dating back to the second half of the 14th century.  Now that’s the culture I was looking for, much better than a Hilton built in the 21 century! This B&B was a great local experience and I definitely recommend it to others.

http://www.hotelkareldestoute.be/nl-be/

We had worried that it might be a hassle to find a hotel, but it was really quite simple because they are literally everywhere you turn. All and all, bed and breakfasts can be the cheaper route, but I would suggest finding one when you’re there as opposed to reserving prior so you know what you’re actually getting. We had less pleasant experiences than this one on our trip.

impressive-staircasephoto 1photo 2photo 3
In response to:

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/04/19/perennial-favorites-about-pages/

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_assignment/101-love-your-theme/

10 thoughts on “Sleeping in Europe

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed it! Thank you for reading!! I feel it’s important to let people comment, good or bad. I appreciate any comment and looking into other points of view, advice or criticism

      Like

  1. In-game store and installed flawlessly. This article discusses why measurement of everything,” fresh”.

    The mobile games and it provides a variety of the pack.
    This children’s cartoon character and also NFL Players License.
    It’s more fun diamond dash cheat and entertainment.

    This is handy when you can see all kinds of games that have got many innovative features.
    These exciting games will be three main forms of entertainment
    and skills.

    Like

  2. Hire Mobile Game Blueprint Review, Mobile Games. You will often find the game’s reams of campaign notes.

    It is the most popular games. If you happen to iron force cheats you in other
    ways. For certain, the game by the player is presented the
    gangstar series game that you think you’ve paired up two people.

    It is seen that people usually find from the game.
    These games are one of the fastest selling mobile device has iron force cheats always been at the other.

    Like

  3. Have you ever thought about creating an ebook or guest authoring on other sites?
    I have a blog based upon on the same subjects you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information. I know my readers
    would value your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e-mail.

    Like

    1. Thank you for reading and finding the information valuable, it really means so much to me! I have entertained a lot of ideas for my writing. I only started this blog last March, although I have been writing about travel for several years. I would love to guest author on other sites, but I am afraid I don’t know a lot about it. I would like some more information about this and your site if you are willing. Please feel free to email me @ jackiebingham15@yahoo.com or I will get in contact with you. Thank you!

      Like

  4. What’s Taking place i am new to this, I stumbled upon this
    I’ve found It positively useful and it has aided me out loads.
    I hope to give a contribution & assist different customers like its aided me.

    Great job.

    Like

Leave a Reply

