Awoken


I never realized how important world history and travel was until I went on a trip to Washington D.C. for an undergraduate symposium my last year in college. My interest and passion for history that I now have was sparked from the brutal realization of my ignorance of it. I realized how much I didn’t know about my own country’s history and how amazing, interesting and IMPORTANT it is to know. After realizing this, I was frantic to get caught up on the rest of the world! I was so excited to learn I could hardly stand it.

Other things contributed to my new found interest. After graduating from college, I began reading for pleasure for the first time in my life. I read a book about a young man that went to Europe and I realized how much of an adventure it is to travel. I also took an intercultural communication class in college which also greatly contributed to my interest to culture, politics and diversity for the first time in my life.

 Once I actually began to learn about history, I felt like I had been in a dark bubble my whole life. The best way to describe it is I felt as if someone had finally opened the door and let me into the world! I felt so enlightened with such a new perspective of my world and all the things in it that had always been there all along! I felt like such an idiot that I didn’t know or care to learn prior to this time. I felt like I needed to hurry and get caught up since I’d wasted so much time not knowing.  Our world history affects our day to day life, language, and culture more than I ever knew. It has made me who I am and who my family and ancestors were. History is important to everyone and travel is the best way to educate yourself.

 

Leave a Reply

