First Experience


Ireland

My first experience to a foreign country was my honeymoon to Ireland. When I went there I didn’t quite know what to expect and honestly hadn’t done a lot of research on it. It was our honeymoon vacation, so I was much more preoccupied with the wedding prior to leaving. My husband always teases me by telling people that I thought Ireland was going to have horse and buggies on dirt roads and men running around in top hats or something. This is a great exaggeration on his part, but to be honest I was very shocked and surprised to see how modern it was. I don’t know quite what I was expecting, but all I know is I didn’t think it would be so much like it is in my own country. Once we went out of Dublin and toured the countryside, I saw more what of what I was expecting Ireland to be like; rock walls, large green countryside, small towns, beautiful coastline and small hey roof cottages.

Going to another country for your first time is an amazing experience and a feeling that I wish I could have every time I go back. Sadly, I have been desensitized to the “first time” feeling and can only attempt to relive the feeling through my memory. If there is anything I can say about all the places I have been, it is that all in all, we are really all the same. We all have highways, cars, convenience stores and bathrooms. We all go to work and school, eat and spend time with our family. No matter where you are in the world, or what language you speak, we are all universally the same in so very many ways.

3 thoughts on “First Experience

Leave a Reply

